Articles on Vedic Astrology. Please feel free to comment and leave a remark. Thanks.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Child Birth...10

The 8th month of pregnancy belongs to Ishta Devta. Frankly speaking, I am yet to decipher, conclusively, how to find one's Ishta Devta.

In one of the books that I read, said that Ishta Devta is based on the Atmakarak planet, the planet which represents your atma or soul. It is the planet, which in his residing home has traversed through maximum degrees as compared to other planets in their respective residing homes. For example, if Ju is at 29 degrees in Cancer and other planets (Mo in cancer 5 degrees, Sun in Leo 15 degrees, Mercury in Virgo 10 degrees etc.) then the Ju will be Atmakarak planet. Different deities as per this definition are as follows:

Sun - the Sun God or Gayatri Mata or strong form of Lord Vishnu - Lord Narsimha
Mo - One's own mother or any female deity such as Gowri Maa
Mars - Hanumanji or Lord Karthikeyan
Mercury - Lord Vishnu (mild form of Lord Vishnu - Lord Krishna or Lord Ram)
Jupiter - Lord Shiv
Venus - Gowri Maa
Saturn - Shanidev himself
Rahu - Durga Maa

People who watch astrological programs might argue the absence of Lord Ganesh here. Lord Ganesh rules Ketu, which is always as same degrees as Rahu, so in my humble opinion Ketu will be atmakarak if, it influences the ascendant or moon more strongly than Rahu does, along with having maximum degrees.

This was one approach.

Something which came to my mind after reading some texts etc. is stated as follows:
Lord Vishnu rules over the maintenance of the creation, so all planets which are primarily benefics, which enhance one's life to live it better will come under Lord Vishnu. For example, if your main planet is a benefic or your Moon is influenced by a strong benefic, it is very much possible that you will have a propensity towards Lord Vishnu. 

Lord Shiv rules the destruction and all malefics are primarily concerned with stopping the good life, hence, if your main planet is a malefic or your Moon or ascendant is strongly influenced by a strong malefic, then you will have a inclination towards Lord Shiv or Hanumanji.

Besides this, if your Venus, Moon or Rahu are particularly strong, and they influence the ascendant strongly, then, you might have a inclination towards the Supreme Female Deity, namely, Gowri Maa or Durga Maa.

While considering the above, we must also consider the 9th house in chart too. The 9th house in D9 must also be considered for influence.

One interpretation that I read in website LightOnVedicAstrology was as follows:

One more link that I found is as follows:

Another link, which states that Lord Vishnu, in his different forms can be Ishta Devta, for differnt planets, is as follows:

The interpretation of thr above doc that I found in one of the blogs is as follows:As per BhagyaSamhita rules, Atma Karaka is the planet that has the highest longitude in one's natal Chart. Atma Karaka in Navamsa is named the "Karakamsa". The 12th from the Karakamsacontrols the "IsthaDevata". The 12th house from the karakamsa is named the "Jivanmuktamsa". This is the house which suggests the freedom of the soul and thus we have to observe this house in order to find your IshtaDevata and if there is a Graha in the Jivanmuktamsa, it indicates the Devata. If there are more Grahas than one, we select the strongest. If there is no Graha in the Jivanmuktamsa, we can see whether any Grahas are inspecting the 12th. If no Grahas aspect it, we can take the 12th Lord as IshtaDevata.In the chapter called "kaarakaamsaphala" in BPHS(Brihat Parasara Hora Shastra), Parasara stated the deities adored based on the planets in the 12th from kaarakaamsha. For example, Sun in 12th from Atma Karaka shows a believer of Shiva and Moon in 12th from Atma Karaka shows a worshipper of MaaGouri.

Here are given the ruling deities for each planet who can be your IshtaDevata as per your Horoscope.

Sun - Vishnu, Rama, Shiva 
Moon - Krishna, Shiva, Parvati
Mars - Hanuman, Subramanya, Sri Narasimha
Mercury- Vishnu
Jupiter- Vishnu, Sri Vamana, Dattatreya, Sai Baba
Venus- Maha Lakshmi, Parashurama, MaaGouri
Saturn- ShaniDev, Hanuman, Kurma, Shiva, Vishnu
Rahu - MaaDurga, Varaha
Ketu - Ganesh, Matasya
Ascendent - Kalki

Last, and the mostly striking comment that I read in one of the forums was that Ishta Devta is the deity, towards whom you have the most natural inclination, so it can be any deity whom you worship with your whole heart is your Ishta Devta.

How to make your chart? Please download this free software - 
It comes with a book that help you learn to interpret your own chart.

1 comment:

  1. i doubt if we take rahu and ketu as atmakarka.... please throw some light on this