Articles on Vedic Astrology. Please feel free to comment and leave a remark. Thanks.

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Not just 12 signs...

Most people argue that how can the whole humanity be divided into just 12 signs (Aries, Taurus, Gemini etc.). Actually as per Vedic Astrology, the division are far more than that, possibly the reason why we have so many different kinds of people. How? Just see the stats below:

Signs - 12
Houses - 12
Nakshatras (Constellations) - 27
Each Nakshatra has 4 divisions called padas.
Hence, at least total number of variations can be
12*12*27*4 = 15552

Now, for every degree of movement of earth the planets shift their positions. Consider Moon. It will hence traverse 180 degree East and West of GMT, with total of 360 degrees. Multiplying this with above figure, we get = 5598720. And this multiplication must be done for all planets. I am not going to do that. Hence we have these many types of people in the world. Start counting...

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Results of a Mahadasha

Everyone at anytime is running a mahadasha, or major period of a planet and may be about to start a mahadasha of another planet. It is not easy to judge what results a coming mahadasha can bestow a native. First let us look at the total time periods of all mahadashas:

Planet Mahadasha Period
Sun 6 years
Moon  10 years
Mars 7 years
Rahu 18 years
Jupiter 16 years
Saturn 19  years
Mercury 17 years
Ketu 7 years
Venus 20 years

When a child is born, she is actually running a mahadasha of some planet. A mahadasha is further divided into antadasha (sub-period) and pratyantardasha(sub-sub period) periods of planets.While judging a mahadasha we must consider the following:
1. The position of planet (house and rashi) in D1.
2. The position of planet (house and rashi) in D9 (helps in understanding judging the happiness/satisfaction from one's partner and spiritual propensity)
3. The position of planet (house and rashi) in D10 (when judging the career during the mahadasha)
4. The position of planet (house and rashi) in D3 (when judging happiness/satisfaction in general.
5. The position of planet (house and rashi) in D60 (the chart of previous life and sanchit karma)
6. Whether the planet is friendly to ascendant or not.
7. One thing could be very important is Mahadasha of Naksthatra ascendant. If you are going through or started the mahadasha of planet of nakshatra lord under which you are born, then it could be a life changing mahadasha. It can bring in the 'Self-Realization' phase in your life. For example someone born under ascendant of Sun (Leo) might have ascendant nakshatra as Magha (ruled by Ketu), Purva Phalguni (ruled by Venus) or Uttara Phalguni (Sun). Hence, if the person has Leo ascendant and Magha as ascendant Nakshtra, then the mahadasha of Ketu will be mahadasha of greater change in life, leadering to movement towards higher goals indicated by Ketu, such as emancipation.

Obviously, if a planet is in its highest position in any of the charts then it will give better than average results. But, it may happen that a planet is exalted in D1, but debilitated in D9 or D60. Then it means that the mahadasha will not give that good results.I had read that in general a mahadasha lord if enemy of ascendant lord will give bad results, specially if badly placed. But, I have witnessed that if the same planet was well placed in D60 (in center in own house) gave good results.Also, the planets give results as per their intrinsic nature.
1. Jupiter, Venus, brigher Moon (Moon in shukla paksha) and non-afflicted Mercury being a beneficial planets, will give good results as per their placement.
2. Sun, Saturn, Mars, Rahu, Ketu tend to give some struggles to native due to their intrinsic malefic character.
Also, if any of these planets are with one or more benefics, their strength to give good results increases. On the similar lines, if the mahadasha lord is with a malefic planet, its tendency to give bad results/struggles increases. If a planet is giving a Rajyoga (Neecha bhang rajyoga, Viparit rajyoga, Mahalakshmi yog etc.) in D1 chart, and is present in D10 chart with a malefic in 10th house, the native is destined to rise further in her career, but after a lot of struggle. 

The struggle is alleviated, if the planet is with a benefic. Also, the planet's location gives its major results. Examples:
1. A mahadasha of planet located in 12th house will give results with respect to the 12th house significations and the houses the planet rules. Mars in Leo for Virgo ascendant, will give results with respect significations of 12th house, 3rd house (Scorpio) and 8th house (Aries).
2. Mars in Virgo for Aquarius ascendant will give results primarily with respect to 8th house, 3rd house (Aries) and 10th house (Scorpio).

Again, while judging we must consider associations, aspects and exchanges and various divisional charts when judging the mahadasha.A small note on how to judge an antardasha - In general consider, the location of antardasha planet with respect to mahadasha planet. If the antardasha planet is in center (located 1,4,7,10) or kona (1,5,9) with respect to mahadasha planet, then the antardasha planet will give good results. While on the whole mahadasha lord will keep focus on houses it rules and where it sits, for smaller periods (antardasha planet) the focus will accordingly shift to houses rules by antardasha planets and where they sit.For more details on houses see the following links. 

The links can tell where your focus is currently depending on mahadasha and antardasha: